SGT Charles B. Allen, USMC

Sgt Charles B AllenRemembering SGT Charles Brock Allen, Jr. (CO A BLT 1/6, USMC, USS Guam), who lost his life on active duty, 17 January 1977, in Barcelona, when the liberty boat (LCM-6) he was on struck a freighter and capsized. He was 20 years old.

SGT Allen was born in Chicago, Illinois. He enlisted in the Marine Corps on March 7, 1974, at age 17. He was laid to rest at Fort Sheridan Cemetery, Highwood, Illinois.

One hundred, twenty-four sailors and marines from the USS Guam and USS Trenton were on the liberty boat that night.  Forty nine lost their lives.

Author: ussguamtrenton1977

I was a Lance Corporal (CO A BLT 1/6, USMC, USS Guam) onboard an LCM-6 liberty boat on 17 January 1977, when it was hit by a freighter and capsized in the harbor at Barcelona. Nearly 40 years have passed since then, but I've never forgotten that night and the men who lost their lives.----Please contact me if you have information about any survivors or their families and especially any next-of-kin to those who perished.

4 thoughts on “SGT Charles B. Allen, USMC”

  1. Sgt Allen was my squad ldr. PFC Cantu was a member of my fireteam. I was spared as being on training section that very sad evening. Both were kind, dedicated US Marines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First thing Thank you for your service My name is David V Allen nephew of the late Sgt Charles B Allen I remember that cold January night in Chicago when the Chaplain and Ssgt gave my Grandfather the tragic news I’ll never forget the look on my Grandfather’s face I was 9 years old at that time 11 years later I joined the Marine Corps I went into the Infantry as a 0341 mortar man with the 81’s platoon of 1/1 I served from April 1988 to 1999 and was a Sgt when I was honorably discharged I just happened to stumble on this article thank you Sir and Semper Fi

      Like

  2. My name is David V Allen nephew of Sgt. Charles B. Allen uncle Chucky is what I called him I remember the night a Chaplin and a Marine Lt. came to my GrandFather’s house that cold January night I was 9 years old I never forgot the look my GrandFathers face I would see that same look again 11 years later when I went into the Corps I was a 0341 81mm mortarcrewman with 1/1 81’s pot I serverd from April 1988 to February 1999 I was a sergeant when I was honorably discharged I stumbled on this by accident but a lot of questions I had have now been answered as my family never talked about what he did or what happened I appreciate the comments made thank you Sir

    Like

    1. Hello, David – so good to hear from you! I have been trying to find Sgt. Allen’s family for many years. I am a survivor from the accident and knew your uncle well. I had a great deal of respect for your uncle; he looked out for the men that served under him. On the one year anniversary of the accident I and another Marine who survived were back in Barcelona for a memorial service and the dedication of the monument. I remember Sgt. Allen’s wife was also there, and we got to spend time with her. I have always wanted to reconnect with her and let her know that he was not forgotten. I don’t know if she is still living, but if she is, I would love to speak with her.

      Be sure to check out our Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/USSGuamTrenton1977 It is more active than this website.

      Like

Leave a comment